KTTZ Governance 

The Texas Legislature, in Chapters 109, 110, and in Section 51.352, Texas Education Code, has delegated to the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System the power and authority to govern, control and direct the policies of the TTU System including KTTZ, Texas Tech Public Media.

The board is composed of nine members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate for staggered terms of six years each, the term of three members expiring on January 31 of odd-numbered years. In addition to the nine members, there also is a student regent who is appointed by the governor to serve a one-year term that begins on June 1 of each year.

For more than 90 years, the institutions of the TTU System have served as a beacon of excellence in education and research on the South Plains and beyond. Throughout its history, the Board of Regents has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.


Board of Regents Meeting Room
Texas Tech University System
System Administration Building
1508 Knoxville Ave., Suite 104
Lubbock, Texas 

Meeting Schedule 

Charting the Future of the TTU System


Member Term Expires January 31, 2019 

John Esparaza                                               Austin

 L. Frederick "Rick" Francis                         El Paso

Tim  Lancaster                                              Abilene   

Member Term Expires January 31, 2021 

Mickey L. Long, Chairman                             Midland

Ronnie Hammonds .                                       Houston

Christopher M. Huckabee                              Fort Worth  

Member Term Expires January 31, 2023

J. Michael Lewis                                               Dallas

John D. Steinmetz                                               Dallas  

John Walker                                                    Lubbock    

Student Regent Term Expires May 31, 2017 

Jeremy Stewart                                                Arlington

Member list updated June 2017. For most up-to-date version visit texastech.edu.

Texas Tech University,
17th & Indiana
Lubbock, Texas 79409
Phone: 806-742-2209
Fax: 806-742-1274

 Follow KTTZ-TV